News Feature

Blue Hill
Originally published in Castine Patriot, August 23, 2018 and The Weekly Packet, August 23, 2018
George Stevens Academy- Back to School

Focus on Education 2018 Archive
Click here to see the full Focus on Education 2018 Archive.

George Stevens Academy

374-2808, georgestevensacademy.org

First day: 9th grade, Wednesday, August 29, with new upperclassmen invited to lunch at 12 p.m. All grades, Thursday, August 30. No school Friday, August 31, and Labor Day, Monday, September 3. School hours: 8 a.m.-2:30 p.m.

Administration Head of School: Timothy J. Seeley, t.seeley@georgestevens.org, 374-2808 Assistant Head of School: Libby Rosemeier, l.rosemeier@georgestevens.org, 374-2808 Reception & Attendance: Debbie Davis, d.davis@georgestevens.org, 374-2808 Dean of Curriculum and Instruction: David Stearns, d.stearns@georgestevens.org, 374-2808 Dean of Students: Todd Eckenfelder, t.eckenfelder@georgestevens.org, 374-2120 Director of Special Education: Cory Schildroth, c.schildroth@georgestevens.org, 374-2808 Director of Athletics: Larry Gray, l.gray@georgestevens.org, 374-2808 Business Manager: Fred Heilner, f.heilner@georgestevens.org, 374-5081

Snapshot

Grades: 9-12. Total number of students: 331 Grade 9: 85, Grade 10: 88, Grade 11: 82, Grade 12, 76 Full-time teachers: 25; part-time: 12 Support staff, full- and part-time: 30

New Programs

Digital Fabrication, Advanced Placement Language and Composition, Boat Building, Anatomy and Physiology, Advanced Placement 2D Design and Marine Ecology Research.

New Staff

Libby Edwardson has joined the GSA faculty as our librarian. Since moving to Maine several years ago, Libby has worked as the youth librarian at Blue Hill Public Library, where she organized many youth events, including community service events and a Girls Who Code program. Libby will join three daughters at GSA: 12th-grader Hattie Fitzpatrick, 11th-grader Mabel Fitzpatrick, and 9th-grader Esther Fitzpatrick. Anya Antonovych has returned to GSA as a part-time art teacher. She filled this position during the 2016-2017 school year and rejoins the faculty after spending time back in Chicago with her family. Her son, Adam, will attend elementary school in the area. Anna Brown will change from part-time GSA dorm parent to full-time resident dorm parent in Hanley, Freshman Seminar teacher, and study hall teacher. Recently, she taught English at John Bapst, and she previously lived and taught in Taiwan, California, and Germany. Her daughter, Emma, is a 10th-grader at GSA this year. Mark Messer has returned to GSA, this time as our director of communications. Mark was the school’s first English as a second language teacher, and he coached tennis during his first seven years here. Most recently, he was an editor for a local newspaper, a historical society journal, and other print publications. Robert Cushman will join GSA as a dorm parent in our Hinckley Dorm. Rob describes himself as a knowledgeable and skilled practitioner/advocate for healthy and ecological living. Rob has a Master of Science in Agriculture, Food and Environment from Tufts University. He is the owner of Blue Hill Itinerant Slaughter and a Partner at Waukeag Neck Oysters Co.

Meals

Student lunch: $5, additional items à la carte. Reduced-cost program form is sent to every family with the back-to-school mailing. First week’s menu is posted in Powerschool Daily Bulletin.

Buses

Bus routes are managed by Unions 93 and 76.